Ecrit le par et publié dans « Non classé ».

The territory of the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and the Chippewa Indians is the Great Traverse Indian Reservation (45-01`13` N 85-36`22`W / 45.02028-N 85.60611-W / 45.02028; - 85.60611), as defined by the United States Minister of the Interior on May 27, 1980, includes land acquired by the group. The Grand Traverse Band contract for the Treaty of 1836 includes an area in a line from the Grand River to the Alpena region to the north and the eastern part of the upper Chocolay River peninsula to the east. The majority (nearly 55 per cent) of the reserve is located in several non-contiguous areas of the Eastern District of Suttons Bay in Leelanau County, Michigan. There are also five smaller parcels in four other counties: land in southern Benzonia Township, Benzie County; two parcels in southern Helena Township, County Antrim; Land in eastern Acme Township, Grand Traverse County; and land in the southwest of the Township of Eveline, in the district of Charlevoix. The total area of the Trust Land reserve and non-booking is 2,539 km2 (0.9804 sq mi, or 627.46 acres (2.5392 km2). The total census population in 2000 was 545 people, 80 per cent of whom were identified as wholly Indian. The current main reserve and service area of County Six consists of Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Grand Traverse, Leelanau and Manistee counties. The base of the group is about 4.5 km2 and has a total of 3,985 members. About 1,610 people live in the tribal areas.

Water resources within the 1855 reserve include the Grand Traverse Bay, the eastern shore of Michigan, Lake Leelanau, Lake Elk and its watersheds. Other important natural resources are unded forest plots and traditional and cultural hunting, fishing and culture areas. The members are from the nine historic groups of Ottawa (Odawa) and the Chippewa groups (known as Ojibwe in Canada) people who occupy this territory in northern Michigan and have signed contracts with the federal government.

Les commentaires sont fermés.